Swedish MPA Awards

The Swedish MPA Awards is hosted by Musikförläggarna, The Swedish Music Publishers Association, and is an annual prize ceremony that premiers Swedish songwriters, lyricists and contemporary composers. Authors in nine different categories are awarded for their achievements throughout the period of July 1st – June 30th.

One composer will also recieve an Honorary award of the year for his or her outstanding career as a music creator.

The winners of the two contemporary music awards are also recipients of SEK 25.000 each.

The prize ceremony is held at Berns in Stockholm in front of fellow songwriters, lyricists, composers, publishers, selected music industry professionals and specially invited guests.

The Swedish MPA Awards has been honouring Swedish songwriters and composers since 2003. Some of the recipients of the award are Björn Ulveaus & Benny Andersson of ABBA, Per Gessle of Roxette, Martin ”Max Martin” Sandberg, Johan ”Shellback” Schuster, RedOne, Sven David-Sandström, Tim ”Avicii” Bergling, Georg Riedel, Bloodshy & Avant, Salem Al Fakir and Sharon Vaughn.

Winners in the following categories are announced:
Composer of the Year
Lyricist of the Year
International Achievement of the Year
Classical Music Award of the Year – orchestra/opera
Classical Music Award of the Year – chamber music
Song of the Year
Breakthrough of the Year
Most Airplayed Song of the Year (in collaboration with Spotify)
Honorary Award of the Year

A young, promising songwriter is rewarded with The Swedish MPA’s grant.

See all the winners of the Swedish Music Publishers Association Prize 2017 here.